Why are .DS_Store files created in network shares on Mac OS X?

.DS_Store files are created by the Mac OS X Finder. The Finder will place a .DS_Store file in every folder you have opened. These files are used to save the placement of the icons, the size of the respective Finder window, the window's background and many other view options.

In Mac OS X v10.4 (Tiger), Apple introduced a Finder preference that keeps it from creating these files on network volumes. Details of that preference can be found at http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1629. This change can be made for all users of one computer by issuing the following command in Terminal:
defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.desktopservices DSDontWriteNetworkStores true

Although the article referenced above does not mention Mac OS X v10.5 (Leopard), our testing shows that this preference is still honored.