Dave 10.0.1 and space in folder names.

User discussion forum for prior versions of DAVE
Forum rules
This forum is for user discussion of DAVE, and is not intended as a source of technical assistance.
Please note that only the most basic installation or configuration support will be offered by Support Specialists for legacy versions.
Post Reply
ctangora
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:04 am

Dave 10.0.1 and space in folder names.

Post by ctangora » Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:13 am

We use DAVE to tunnel into a folder structure. If a folder on a windows server has a space in the name, DAVE will not even recognize the server. If there is a space in the share name it is okay with it. It is only when there is a space in folder name you are trying to get to that DAVE says ... There was a problem connecting to the server "xxxxx".

The end users are telling me that this used to work in previous versions of DAVE. I can get the share/folder mounted using mount_smbfs and putting %20 in for the space, but that doesn't work for DAVE.

Anybody else seeing this issue?

ctangora
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 9:04 am

Re: Dave 10.0.1 and space in folder names.

Post by ctangora » Fri Sep 20, 2013 8:52 am

Just for anyone else who is looking for an answer, this is a bug in 10.0.1.

Engineers are working on it according to support. Contact support for more information, they have an Applescript that you can run. We used just a straight terminal command to do the same.

Code: Select all

mount_smbfs //server/shared /Path/To/The%20Folder
Make sure to swap the spaces for %20.

I see Thursby fixing this in a future release as it used to work.

jim_t
Site Admin
Posts: 344
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:10 pm

Re: Dave 10.0.1 and space in folder names.

Post by jim_t » Fri Sep 20, 2013 9:32 am

Please note that using mount_smbfs uses Apple's built-in SMB client, and is not supported.

If you are running into the issue with a folder path that contains a space, please contact our Support Department at support@thursby.com for the AppleScript workaround or other solution. Also, by contacting support, we can follow up with customers directly once a resolution has been found.

Regards,

Jim Thomas
Senior Support Specialist

Post Reply